Andre Norton Award Collection, 1951-2002

By Jeremy Brett

Printable view of this page Printable view of this page

Collection Overview

Title: Andre Norton Award Collection, 1951-2002

ID: 00/C000151

Extent: 26.0 Items

Arrangement: Chronological by year of receipt.

Date Acquired: 12/14/2014

Languages: English

Scope and Contents of the Materials

This collection consists of numerous awards that noted science fiction and fantasy author Andre Norton was given over the course of her long and storied career.

Administrative Information

Acquisition Source: Victor Horadam

Acquisition Method: Gift.

Box and Folder Listing

Item 1
Boys’ Club of America Junior Book Award, for Bullard of the Space Patrol by Malcolm Jameson (edited by Norton), 1951.
Item 2
The Invisible Little Man Award, from the Elves’, Gnomes’ and Little Men’s Science Fiction, Chowder and Marching Society, 1963.
Item 3
Phoenix Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science Fiction and Fantasy, at DeepSouthCon XIII, 1975.
Item 4
J.R.R. Tolkien Memorial Award for Achievement in Fantasy (Grand Master), 1977.
Item 5
Norton Award, 1978.
Item 6
Balrog Award for Life Achievement in Fantasy, 1979.
Item 7
Career Achievement Award, Presented at Science Fiction Weekend, 1980.
Item 8
Ohioan Book Award  (Martha Kinney Cooper Ohioana Library Award) for Juvenile Fiction, 1980.
Item 9
Ohio Women Hall of Fame Award, 1981.
Item 10
E.E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction, 1983.
Item 11
Jules Verne Award for Voyages Extraordinaires in the Literature and Art of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Sky Con 4, 1984.
Item 12
SFWA Grand Master Award, 1984.
Item 13
Second Stage Lensman Award, at Moscon IX, 1987.
Item 14
World Fantasy Award Convention’s Choice, 1987.
Item 15
E.E. Evans Big Heart Award, at 1988 Worldcon.
Item 16
Honorary Appointment as Officer on the starship U.S.S. Phoenix, 1988.
Item 17
Noreascon Three Guest of Honor, 1989.
Item 18
Science Fiction Book Club 1991 Book of the Year Award (for The Elvenbane, w/Mercedes Lackey). [Broken – piece accompanies award]
Item 19
Award in recognition of service as a Judge of L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, 1994.
Item 20
Scientifiction First Fandom Hall of Fame Award, 1994.
Item 21
Magic Carpet Con Award for Lifetime Achievement, 1997.
Item 22
Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame, 1997.
Item 23
World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement, 1998.
Item 24
Judge, L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future 15th Anniversary, 1999.
Item 25
Southeastern Science Fiction Achievement Award (SESFA) for Lifetime Achievement, 2002.
Item 26
Unidentified sash.